Announcing DATs Cohort 2

Feb 1, 2023

By: Leslie Cramblet Alvarez, Director of the Office of Teaching and Learning

The VPFA and OTL are pleased to announce the second cohort of DATs@DU! Following a successful pilot project funded by R1 Our Way, three new departments/programs will be working with DAT facilitators over the next 10 months through a change process known as Departmental Action Teams (DATs).

Participating departments/programs will determine ways to apply the Teaching Quality Framework and ensure three voices (self, student, peer) are reflected in teaching evaluation for annual and consequential reviews. Two DAT sessions are open to the campus. Departments interested in considering their approaches to evaluating teaching are welcome to attend.

The first campus-wide opportunity to engage is February 15th at noon in Maglione Hall. “Considering the Role of Student Voice in Teaching Evaluation” welcomes back Dr. Noah Finkelstein and panel guests from around the country to explore the role of student voice in evaluating teaching. Students are uniquely positioned to provide data and feedback on teaching effectiveness; however, our current systems are fraught with problems ranging from bias to non-actionable feedback. We present the opportunities (and limitations) of three different mechanisms for effectively including and interpreting student voice in teaching evaluation: student surveys/rating systems, student interviews, and solicited student letters. Participants will collectively examine tools and practices for the use of student voice and engage with academics from different disciplines to discuss how they have enacted these new approaches in their units. Register here. Lunch included.


Please join us in congratulating DATs@DU Cohort 2:


Biological Sciences

Erica Larson, Assistant Professor

Julie Morris, Teaching Professor

Shannon Murphy, Professor

Nancy Sasaki, Teaching Professor (Team Lead)

Sarah Willis, Assistant Teaching Professor


Business Information and Analytics

Valerie Bartelt, Assistant Professor

Tamara Hannaway, Associate Teaching Professor

Kellie Keeling, Associate Professor, Dept Chair (Team Lead)

Kerry-Ann Lewis Pearcy, Assistant Teaching Professor

Holly Roof, Assistant Teaching Professor


Physics and Astronomy

Davor Balzar, Chair, Associate Professor

Steve Iona, Teaching Professor (Team Lead)

Dinah Loerke, Associate Professor

Mark Siemens, Professor


Special thanks to our DAT Facilitators & DAT Leadership team:

Leslie Cramblet Alvarez, Director of OTL, Co-chair Teaching Excellence Task Force

Jared Del Rosso, Associate Professor in the Department of Sociology & Criminology, Faculty Fellow of Teaching and Learning, Co-chair Teaching Excellence Task Force, and DAT facilitator

Barbekka Hurtt, Teaching Associate Professor in Biological Sciences Faculty Fellow of Teaching and Learning, and DAT facilitator

Kayoung Kim, Director of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning and FLCs, Project Assessment

Virginia Pitts, Director of University Teaching, DAT facilitator

Terese Rainwater, Project Manager, R1 Our Way

Alison Staudinger, Director of Faculty Development and Career Advancement

Kate Willink, VPFA

VPFA E-Newsletters