Call for Faculty Award Nomination

Oct 30, 2020

An official announcement requesting nominations for faculty awards will soon be sent jointly by the Provost and the President of the Faculty Senate. These awards are some of the most prestigious that can be bestowed by the University. The awards are for:

Distinguished Scholar

This award recognizes unusually significant and meritorious achievement in professional scholarship, as evidenced by publications and their enhancing effect on classroom teaching.

Distinguished Teaching

This award recognizes excellence in teaching. The nomination should emphasize the degree to which a person’s teaching has constructively influenced his/her students. The nominee must have completed three or more years of teaching at the University of Denver.

Faculty Service

This award is given to a faculty member in recognition of outstanding service to the University, the community, or the profession.

University Lecturer

This award recognizes superlative creative and scholarly work. The lecturer is chosen without regard for time spent at the University or popularity as an individual or as a teacher. The award is announced at the Fall Convocation and presented at the University Lecture in the spring.

Ruth Underhill Teaching

This award recognizes excellence in teaching by an adjunct faculty member, here defined as a teacher whose primary employer is not the University of Denver.  It is named after Ruth Murray Underhill, who served as an instructor at DU 1948-1952 and as an adjunct faculty member into the 1970s.

The awards recognize excellence in scholarship, teaching, and/or service and (except for the Ruth Underhill award which is open only to adjunct faculty) are open to all faculty regardless of faculty series of appointment. Self-nominations and nominations of others are welcome. Further information can be found here.

VPFA E-Newsletters

DU VPFA logo